Back to the overview
12-10-2015ProjektIT & Telecommunication

Heuking Kühn Lüer Wojtek advises the district of Ammerland

Dr. Stephan Witteler, Partner, Markus Lennartz, Salaried Partner, Christine Grau and Christian Miercke, Lawyers, all at the commercial law firm of Heuking Kühn Lüer Wojtek’s Frankfurt office, advised the district of Ammerland in particular on matters of State aid law, public procurement law, and communal services law in connection with the expansion of its broadband infrastructure. The team led by Dr. Stephan Witteler accompanied the Ammerland district's invitation to bid for the awarding of funds in the form of investment aid by the public sector, in order to provide NGA broadband to the currently underserved areas of the district.
At only six municipalities, Ammerland is Germany's district with the fewest municipalities. The district town of Westerstede is the district's only town. All of the district's municipalities are independent municipalities.

The district has a total area of 728.23 km2. At 179.0 km2, the district town of Westerstede has the largest area within the district. Four other district municipalities have an area in excess of 100 km2. The smallest municipality in terms of area is Apen at 76.83 km2.

The largest municipality of the district with a population of 119,917 is Bad Zwischenahn with 27,965 residents. Three further municipalities, including the city of Westerstede, have a population in excess of 20,000. The two municipalities with the lowest population are Wiefelstede at 15,676 and Apen at 11,163.
Counsel to Ammerland District
Heuking Kühn Lüer Wojtek:

Dr. Stephan Witteler (Lead),
Markus Lennartz
Christine Grau
Christian Miercke, all Frankfurt

Contact persons

You are currently using an outdated and no longer supported browser (Internet Explorer). To ensure the best user experience and save you from possible problems, we recommend that you use a more modern browser.