Media & Entertainment

Our legal professionals have many years of expertise in Media Law and Entertainment. We know our clients’ needs and handle their projects quickly and efficiently.

The world of media has changed fundamentally. Convergence is no longer simply a buzzword at conferences, but an everyday challenge for the media industry and creative professionals. Ever more new content distribution methods have been launched in recent years, and users have changed their consumption accordingly. Broadcasting services are no longer accessed in a linear fashion, but on demand, particularly by younger users.

Increasingly, publishing houses no longer see their web presence as an alternative, but as a supplement to print publications with additional communication and research options. Communication via online platforms and social media leads to new challenges in drawing the line between the expression of opinions and journalism, between commercial activity and private action.

This is aided by various forms of customer targeting, such as in direct marketing through programmatic advertising or in social media offerings. As part of the IP, Media & Technology practice group, we focus on advising in Media & Entertainment to be able to advise our clients in a solution-oriented and goal-oriented manner.

Our range of services in Media & Entertainment

  • advising on publishing and press law
  • resolving issues relating to online media, in particular legal issues regarding websites and social media presence
  • drafting publishing and agency contracts as well as contracts for the provision of corporate content
  • assisting in negotiations on music and film rights, sports, and advertising
  • advising on gaming and gambling marketing
  • advising on the acquisition and exercise of rights
  • licensing rights of use

Media change and digitalization: comprehensive advice from a single source

What rights do you need to secure as a provider or platform user? What regulatory requirements do you have to observe when offering a service or hosting a program? Are you allowed to exclude the resale of eBooks or audiobooks? What are you allowed to link or even use yourself for own purposes?

The change in media has given rise to new legal issues in recent years that participants in online exchanges are increasingly dealing with. A large number of these new issues relate to the “classic” right of expression, which is associated with media and copyright law. This frequently results in problems under competition and trademark law, as well as the need for compliance with data protection requirements, which require particular legal advice.

In addition, our lawyers have in-depth experience in defending reputational damage caused by social media and platforms, frequently due to “fake news” or “hate speech.” We assist you in defending your reputation on the Internet and in navigating the media and entertainment space.


Click here to go to our practice group page:

IP, Media & Technology

Distinctions
Media & Entertainment

Legal 500 Germany 2024

You are currently using an outdated and no longer supported browser (Internet Explorer). To ensure the best user experience and save you from possible problems, we recommend that you use a more modern browser.

|

Medien & Entertainment

Unsere Expertinnen und Experten verfügen über eine langjährige Expertise im Medienrecht und im Bereich Entertainment. Wir kennen die Bedürfnisse unserer Mandanten und können ihre Projekte schnell und effizient bearbeiten.

Die Welt der Medien hat sich grundlegend geändert. Konvergenz ist mittlerweile nicht mehr nur Schlagwort auf Konferenzen, sondern Alltagsherausforderung für die Medienindustrie und Kreative. Immer neue Verbreitungsmethoden für Inhalte sind in den letzten Jahren entstanden, was dafür gesorgt hat, dass auch Nutzer ihren Konsum umgestellt haben. Rundfunkangebote werden nicht mehr linear, sondern – besonders von jüngeren Nutzern – on demand abgerufen.

Auch die Webauftritte der Verlagshäuser verstehen sich zunehmend nicht mehr als Alternative, sondern als Ergänzung der Printpublikationen mit weiterführenden Kommunikations- und Recherchemöglichkeiten. Die Kommunikation über Online-Plattformen und Social Media führen zu neuen Herausforderungen bei der Grenzziehung zwischen Meinungsäußerung und Journalismus, zwischen gewerblicher Tätigkeit und privatem Handeln.

Flankiert wird dies durch unterschiedliche Formen der Kundenansprache wie etwa im Bereich des Direktmarketing durch Programmatic Advertising oder in Social Media-Angeboten. Als Teil der Praxisgruppe IP, Media & Technology beraten wir unter anderem schwerpunktmäßig im Bereich Medien und Entertainment, um unsere Mandanten lösungs- und zielorientiert beraten zu können.

Unser Leistungsspektrum im Bereich Medien und Entertainment

  • Beratung zum Verlags- und Presserecht
  • Klärung von Fragen im Bereich der Online-Medien, insbesondere bei Rechtsfragen zu Webseiten und Social Media-Auftritten.
  • Ausarbeitung von Verlags- und Agenturverträgen sowie Verträgen zur Bereitstellung von Corporate Content
  • Begleitung ferner in Verhandlungen zu Musik- und Filmrechten, Sport und Werbung
  • Beratung zur Gaming- und Glücksspielvermarktung
  • Beratung beim Rechteerwerb und bei der Rechtswahrnehmung
  • Lizensierung von Nutzungsrechten

Medienwandel und Digitalisierung: umfassende Beratung aus einer Hand

Welche Rechte müssen Sie sich als Anbietender oder Nutzer einer Plattform sichern? Welche regulatorischen Anforderungen müssen Sie beachten, wenn Sie einen Dienst anbieten oder ein Programm veranstalten wollen? Darf man den Weiterverkauf von eBooks oder Hörbüchern ausschließen? Was darf man verlinken oder sogar selbst für eigene Zwecke nutzen?

Durch den Medienwandel der letzten Jahre sind neue rechtliche Fragestellungen entstanden, mit denen sich Teilnehmer des Online-Austauschs zunehmend beschäftigen. Eine Vielzahl dieser neuen Fragestellungen beziehen sich auf das „klassische“ Äußerungsrecht, das mit dem Medien- und Urheberrecht in Verbindung steht. Daraus resultieren häufig wettbewerbs- und markenrechtliche Probleme sowie die Erfüllung datenschutzrechtlicher Anforderungen, die im besonderen Maße eine anwaltliche Beratung erfordern.

Darüber hinaus verfügen unsere Anwältinnen und Anwälte über fundierte Erfahrungen im Bereich der Abwehr von Reputationsschäden durch Social Media und Plattformen, die oftmals durch „Fake News“ oder „Hate Speech“ hervorgerufen werden. Wir helfen Ihnen dabei, den guten Ruf im Internet zu verteidigen und sich in dem Bereich Medien und Entertainment zurechtzufinden.


Hier gelangen Sie zu unserer Praxsgruppenseite:

IP, Media & Technology

Sie benutzen aktuell einen veralteten und nicht mehr unterstützten Browser (Internet-Explorer). Um Ihnen die beste Benutzererfahrung zu gewährleisten und mögliche Probleme zu ersparen, empfehlen wir Ihnen einen moderneren Browser zu benutzen.